The Nuclear-Free Future Award

for a world without nuclear weapons, nuclear energy and uranium ammunition


Laureates 2017

Making the world safe from nuclear weapons and nuclear power is in our hands! 2017 Nuclear-Free Future Award to honor individuals who help get us there.
The ceremony honoring this year’s Nuclear-Free Future Award winners takes place in cooperation with the international congress “Human Rights, Future Generations, and Crimes in the Nuclear Age,” September 14th-17th, Kollegienhaus, University of Basel, Petersplatz 1.

Link to Event-Swiss-ippnw


Almoustapha Alhacen, Niger

Almoustapha Alhacen, a Tuareg, worked until recently at the French-owned Areva uranium mine in Arlit, Niger. When he saw how his sick and dying co-workers were ignored by the company, and how the environment was affected, he founded the NGO, Aghirin’man, (“Protection of the Soul,” in the language of the Tuareg). Alhacen has courageously spoken out, both in Niger and on international stages, against human rights abuses and the negative health impacts caused by uranium mining, and continues to do so even after losing his job and livelihood in 2015.


Janine Allis-Smith and Martin Forwood, Great Britain

Janine Allis-Smith and Martin Forwood are the two-person heart of Cumbrians Opposed to a Radioactive Environment (CORE). For several decades, the pair have unmasked, publicized and challenged the often secret operations at the Cumbria-based Sellafield nuclear reprocessing plant in northwest England and its short-lived and failed MOX fuel fabrication plant there. Today, they are also helping lead opposition to proposed new nuclear reactors at Moorside, adjacent to Sellafield. CORE is an indispensable pillar of the British anti-nuclear movement.


Hiromichi Umebayashi, Japan

In 1980, physicist Dr. Hiromichi Umebayashi (pictured left) left his teaching post at the Tokyo Metropolitan Technical College in order to dedicate himself to achieving world peace and to eliminating nuclear weapons. His vision: a Northeast Asia Nuclear Weapons-Free Zone; no atomic missiles stationed on the ground in Japan, North Korea, or South Korea; and a guarantee from Russia, China, and the United States that no nuclear weapons would be deployed or used within the zone. He is the founder of Peace Depot Inc., a non-profit initiative that focuses on peace research and education and promotes ideas for national defense systems not reliant on atomic deterrence or outright military supremacy.


Jochen Stay, Germany

For over 30 years, Jochen Stay, 51, has used his “X-Tausendfach Quer” campaign to fight against the very real—but still-gainsaid or otherwise trivialized—dangers of handling, transporting, and reprocessing of that element commonly associated with the numerical designator “-92”. X-Tausendfach Quer was and is the name of the longest-lived sit-in campaign of the anti-nuclear movement. Since its founding in 2008, “Ausgestrahlt” (another of Stay’s creations) has been used by hundreds of thousands of activists who wish to inform themselves not only of who is protesting atomic energy, but also of when, where, how they can help the cause.

The Dedicated of Switzerland's Anti-Nuke Movement

They stand for the innumerous activists in Switzerland who for decades have struggled against existing or planned nuclear power stations and against repositories for spent radioactive fuel. They represent civil society groups and organisations of the Swiss Anti-nuke movement who have never been in the limelight of a wider public. They are: Marcos Buser, Dani Costantino, Michel Fernex, Mira Frauenfelder, Iris Frei, Stefan Füglister, Eva Geel, Niculin Gianotti, Heini Glauser, Jürg Joss, Roland Meyer, Ursula Nakamura, Stefan Ograbek, Georg Pankow, Heidi Portmann, Anne-Cécile Reimann, Philippe de Rougemont, Leo Scherer, Egon Schneebeli, Peter Scholer, Martin Walter, Walter Wildi; Jürg Aerni, Konradin Kreuzer, Chaim Nissim and Rainer Weibel are being honored posthum.

For further Information contact:
Claus Biegert,
Horst Hamm, ,